Close

David Baldwin

oil on canvas

David Baldwin - FrauenBilder

A first glimpse of his works. From September 26, 2018 at PharoDercks Gallery Berlin:

If I Could Choose

Untitled

The Modelmaker

The World Right Now (Little Bo-Peep)

Artist’s Statement:

 “Anyone who examines the history of Art must be struck by the prevalence of images of the female body. More than other subjects the female connotes ‘Art’… it is an icon of Western Culture” Lynda Nead.

The Female Nude: Art, Obscenity and Sexuality. (London and New York: Routeledge 1992.)

David: “As an adolescent, my guilty pleasure was to make tracings around the naked women in soft porn magazines. I still enjoy making images of the female body”

David Baldwin

A short biography.

Born in London, when the creative industries in Great Britain were booming, David followed many of his contemporise to Art College. Two years later, he was offered a place to study at one of the top two Universities, for Graphic Design, in Great Britain. He completed the three year course and returned to London where he began a successful career in Advertising. These were the Halcyon days of Advertising, where creativity was King and Market Research didn’t really exist. Companies relied on creative solutions to sell their products. David won many creative awards, nationally and internationally.

He began painting in 1990 and rented space from Mona Hartoum at The Old Tram Depot in North East London (still exists today). The following year was marked by an unforgettable event for David. He was fortunate enough to meet the painter Francis Bacon. David asked Mr Bacon how he (David) could become a better painter. After a moment’s thought, David tells, Bacon replied, “Simply paint the paint”. A Master Class David was never to forget. Since then he has painted a lot of paint, successfully completed a 3 year Bachelor of Arts degree with First Class Honours, done several murals with artist friend John Dashwood (sadly recently deceased), worked with Art4space on many community projects and frequently exhibited in and around London in Pop-up and permanent Galleries.

Since 2016 David has been living and working in Berlin.

Close

David Baldwin

Öl auf Leinwand

David Baldwin - FrauenBilder

Eine kleine Vorschauer seiner Arbeiten. Ab 26. September 2018 in der PharoDercks Galerie:

If I Could Choose

Untitled

The Modelmaker

The World Right Now (Little Bo-Peep)

Artist’s Statement.

„Jedem der sich mit Kunstgeschichte beschäftigt wird auffallen, wie häufig der weibliche Körper dargestellt wird. Mehr als jedes andere Motiv wird er mit Kunst in Verbindung gebracht… er ist eine Ikone der westlichen Kultur.“ Lynda Nead. 

Der weibliche:  Akt, Obszönität und Sexualität.  (London und New York: Routledge 1992)

David: “As an adolescent, my guilty pleasure was to make tracings around the naked women in soft porn magazines. I still enjoy making images of the female body.”
Als Heranwachsender war es mein heimliches Vergnügen die Umrisse weiblicher Körper in Softpornomagazinen nachzuzeichnen. Ich habe immer noch großes Vergnügen an Bildern von weiblichen Körpern.”


David Baldwin

Eine kurze Biografie

Geboren in London, als die Kreativwirtschaft dort boomte, folgte David wie viele seiner Altersgenossen dem Ruf an eine Kunsthochschule. Zwei Jahre später wurde ihm ein Platz an einem der zwei renommiertesten Universitäten Großbritanniens für Grafik Design angeboten. Nach einer dreijährigen Ausbildung zog es ihn zurück nach London, wo er eine erfolgreiche Kariere in der Werbung startete. Es waren die glücklichen Zeiten der Werbeindustrie, als Kreativität das bestimmende Element war und Marktuntersuchungen noch nicht existierten. Unternehmen zählten auf kreative Lösungen, um ihre Produkte zu verkaufen. In dieser Zeit gewann David viele nationale und internationale Preise für seine Arbeiten.

1990 begann er zu malen und mietete sich bei Mona Hartoum in „The Old Tram Depot“ im Nord-Osten Londons ein, das noch heute existiert. Ein unvergessliches Ereignis war besonders prägend, als er das große Glück hatte, den Maler Francis Bacon zu treffen. David fragte Herrn Bacon, wie er ein besserer Maler werden könne; nach einem kurzen Augenblick des Überlegens antwortete Bacon: „simply paint the paint“ (in etwa: trage einfach Farbe auf). Ein Meisterkurs, der für immer unvergesslich bleibt. Seit dieser Zeit hat David viel, sehr viel Farbe aufgetragen. Nach 3 Jahren und dem erfolgreichen Abschluss „Bachelor of Arts“ mit Bestnote, erschuf er mit seinem (leider jüngst verstorbenen) Künstlerfreund John Dashwood mehrere Wandbilder (Murals) und arbeitet zusammen mit Art4space an vielen gemeinnützigen Projekten und stellte mehrfach in und um London aus, sowohl in Pop-up- als auch in regulären Galerien. Seit 2016 lebt und arbeitet David in Berlin.